Azure Cloud Service

Get help with problems with mRemoteNG.

Azure Cloud Service

Postby bkbartje » Thu Jul 02, 2015 12:25 am

Hi,

I'm trying to connect to an azure cloud service rdp using mremoteNG.
however I'm unsuccessfull to do so.
when I import the rdp file the LoadBalanceInfo part is completely ignored so I get an error when I'm trying to connect.
----------
ErrorMsg
2-7-2015 10:09:23
Opening connection failed!
Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
----------

And why I enter this myself I get an other error
----------
WarningMsg
2-7-2015 10:24:27
RDP disconnected!

This computer can't connect to the remote computer.

The two computers couldn't connect in the amount of time allotted. Try connecting again. If the problem continues, contact your network administrator or technical support.
Error code 264.
----------


What can I do to use mRemoteNG for this?

Thank you.
bkbartje
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 6:04 am

Azure Cloud Service

Sponsor
 

Re: Azure Cloud Service

Postby durrell » Tue Jul 07, 2015 10:45 am

Did you specify the correct endpoint for the Cloud Service? I connect to Azure Cloud Services all the time without a problem.
durrell
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 10:43 am

Re: Azure Cloud Service

Postby bkbartje » Tue Jul 07, 2015 11:02 am

Yes,
my hostname is
mysite.cloudapp.net
and the rdp port is: 3389
or am I missing something?
thank you
bkbartje
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 6:04 am

Re: Azure Cloud Service

Postby durrell » Tue Jul 07, 2015 11:11 am

3389 will only work if you setup the endpoint that way. Typically it's randomly generated:

Image
durrell
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 10:43 am

Re: Azure Cloud Service

Postby bkbartje » Tue Jul 07, 2015 11:33 am

Hi,

I see you are connecting to a VM on azure, that part works perfectly for me. But I'm having some issues with connecting to a cloud service instance.
This is also a VM but it's loadbalances. So I can have multiple instances which I should all be able to access separately.
bkbartje
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 6:04 am

Re: Azure Cloud Service

Postby durrell » Tue Jul 07, 2015 11:47 am

It still sounds like an endpoint problem to me. See:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1370 ... al-machine
durrell
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 10:43 am

Re: Azure Cloud Service

Postby bkbartje » Tue Jul 07, 2015 12:05 pm

Yes,

But this part is still about virtual machines, where you actually have the possibility to modify the firewall.
I don't have those possibilities, see attached file, sorry old portal.
instance.png

I can only connect the instances by clicking them and download the rpd file, by clicking connect(this is not available in the new portal)
the instances are scaling automatically, so at buss times I there are more then at quiet times.
bkbartje
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 6:04 am

Re: Azure Cloud Service

Postby durrell » Tue Jul 07, 2015 12:51 pm

Are these VMs you created and deployed or is this a Cloud Service that is spinning up resources on its own? If the former, it should be easy to just setup endpoints for the VMs (instances) and put those in mRemote. If the latter, it would be difficult to keep up with the automatically scaled VMs and their endpoints.

For example, I have a single Cloud Service that I deploy VM images to and then just make note of the endpoint so I can connect to all 5 VMs.

The load balancing shouldn't matter. You're not load balancing port 3389. You should still be able to connect to application.cloudapp.net on two separate ports for 3389 for both of those VMs.
durrell
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 10:43 am

Re: Azure Cloud Service

Postby bkbartje » Tue Jul 07, 2015 1:01 pm

That is not completely true,
the rdp file I can download from the portal looks like this
full address:s:MyApplication.cloudapp.net
username:s:MyUsername
LoadBalanceInfo:s:Cookie: mstshash=SiennCms#SiennCms_IN_0

And I can open it with mstsc(windows RDP)
the second instance has
LoadBalanceInfo:s:Cookie: mstshash=SiennCms#SiennCms_IN_1

So the numbers in the loadbalenceinfo decide which instance I connect. So that part is easy.
the only problem is, when I copy this to mRemote it doesn't seem to work. No port is given in the file so it should be the default rdp port.
bkbartje
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 6:04 am

Re: Azure Cloud Service

Postby durrell » Tue Jul 07, 2015 1:18 pm

Further Googling looks like it is actually using port 3389 and utilizing RDP cookies to determine which session. Looks like you can set the setting in mRemote for "Load balance info". See:

https://mremoteng.atlassian.net/browse/MR-463
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1956
durrell
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 10:43 am

Next

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 10 guests